Day 34: Library Science

 

img_20170222_131625

I ran into this curious display on the street today. It’s for a campaign by the Human Rights Foundation (chaired by Garry Kasparov) where they are collecting old USB drives to be reformatted, loaded with books and movies, and smuggled to North Korea.

img_20170222_131600

Unfortunately, I didn’t have any random drives with me, so I have to mail some in. It’s such an interesting approach to getting media into North Korea, and such a compelling curation project. I guess the North Korean partners will be guiding the content decisions, but I’m enjoying the thought experiment wondering what I would put on a drive to undermine an insular autocratic state. What viral memes would you implant in the North Korean psyche?

 

Leave a Reply

